Image: Winners and presenters at the British Fashion Awards 2012.


The 2012 British Fashion Awards were held on Tuesday 27th November at The Savoy Hotel and Theatre, London. Hosted by Gemma Arterton and Nick Grimshaw, the ceremony saw the best of the British and international fashion industries joined by a glamorous line-up of guests and presenters, including BFC Ambassador Samantha Cameron, Valentino, Manolo Blahnik CBE, Stella McCartney, Sarah Burton, Zaha Hadid DBE, Christopher Kane and Alexa Chung.

Stella McCartney won the esteemed Designer of the Year award while also picking up the Designer Brand award on behalf of her eponymous label, recognising a momentous year for the designer in 2012.

Harold Tillman CBE was honoured on the evening with a Special Recognition award for his term as Chairman of the British Fashion Council and contribution to the fashion industry.

The hotly contested New Establishment award was won by Erdem, who over the past two seasons has continued to raise his profile over the past year receiving critical acclaim for his collections from a global audience.

The British Fashion Award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion, was awarded to Manolo Blahnik CBE. This special award celebrates and recognises one designer who throughout their career has made an impact on the global fashion industry and the award pays tribute to Manolo’s extraordinary career and contribution to fashion.

Full winners press release
2012 selection panel
Winners Gallery
Red Carpet Gallery

VIDEO: Red Carpet Highlights

Nominees event image gallery
Nominees press release

Image, left to right: Stella McCartney & Salma Hayek; HRH Princess Beatrice of York & Harold Tillman CBE; Sophie Hulme & Marc Newson; Nicholas Kirkwood & Susie Bick; J.W Anderson & Pixie Geldof.